Cow’s milk intolerances and the best alternative foods

Sadly, food intolerances are on the rise. Whilst it is a shame that they occurr on a more frequent basis than they ever did before, we do have some solutions. This week we are featuring our favourite alternative products to cow’s milk based products.


What is an intolerance to cow’s milk?

Having a negative reaction to cow’s milk is a milk/dairy intolerance. If you have an intolerance to milk, then your body reacts negatively to dairy proteins present in the food you eat. This does not mean that you would automatically have the same reaction to sheep or goats milk though so make sure you find out the extent of your intolerance.

Milk intolerance is different to lactose intolerance. If you have a positive reaction to animal milks, you should avoid lactose free milk as well. This is because the reaction involves the milk protein rather than the milk sugar (lactose.)


Where will I find cow’s milk?

Milk, cream, cheeses, butter, buttermilks, crème fraiche, fromage frais, ice cream and yoghurt.

Also, hidden in: Lactoglobulin, Lactalbumin, Caseinate, Lactose, Casein


What can I have if I am intolerant to cow’s milk?

It is very disturbing to restrict all dairy from your life. However, we live in a world where there are some delicious alternatives and this means we don’t have to feel too downhearted about cutting certain foods from our diet.

For example, you can supplement cow’s milk with a variety of dairy alternatives such as coconut milk, rice milk, oat milk, nut milk and cheeses, almond or hazelnut milk.


Viv’s favourite brand for alternative milk is:

Bio Isola Coconut Rice Milk (if you are not allergic to coconut), Plenish Organic Cashew Milk. These two options are the cleanest with only 3-4 ingredients but you should still always read the labels.


Some of Viv’s favourite brands for alternative cheese are:

Violife Prosociano is a dairy free, lactose free, soya free, gluten free form of cheese for vegetarians and vegans.


Viv’s favourite brands for ice cream is:

Booja-Booja is a non-dairy ice cream that is made of water, gave, coconuts and cocoa – all very clean ingredients. They also sell dairy and wheat free chocolates.



Leave a reply


Subscribe to our mailing list and get Vivienne Talsmat’s 28-day Nutrition Plan for free!